certification requirements

Certification requirements

The Security-Relevance of the Reverse Vending Machines

Reverse Vending Machines generate an electronic data set for each compulsory-deposit one-way drinks packaging that serves as a basis for deposit clearing in the DPG-System.

Since each of these raw data sets has a value of 25 cents, it must be ensured that

  • the recognition of DPG packagings by Reverse Vending Machines is reliable
  • That DPG packagings for which a data set has been generated have been reliably devalued
  • That packagings not entitled to a deposit are reliably rejected
  • That for each input DPG packaging no more than one data set can be prepared
  • That a counterfeiting of raw data sets can be fully excluded
  • That a duplication of raw data sets is not possible

Two-Stage Certification Procedure

The certification procedure foreseen for the licensing of Reverse Vending Machines takes place in two stages:

Stage 1 " Type Licensing

The DPG type licensing of a Reverse Vending Machines is undertaken by the DPG licenced certification body. To this end the producer of the Revers Vending Machine selects a DPG-recognized certification body and commissions to carry out a DPG type-licensing. The first-time DPG type licensing is a precondition for entry of a DPG machine to the market.

For Retention of the DPG Type Licensing (stage 1), an initial certification audit (stage 2) with the issue of a certificate must take place within 6 months of the successful type check.

Stage 2 " Initial Certification

Within the framework of the initial certification, all types of Reverse Vending Machines, or families of types, must be checked on site on a random-sampling basis. In this process the certifiers will check, for each DPG type of machine / family of types, a fixed number of DPG machines for compliance with the specifications of the current DPG certification regulations.

After satisfying the initial certification or repeat certification, a certificate will be issued, this being valid for a maximum of 18 months, subject to the precondition that every 12 months a renewed repeat certification will be undertaken.